Milan (A Wedding Story) – Book Review

Book – Milan (A wedding story)
Author – Simi K Rao
ISBN – 1517142865
Type – Mainstream Fiction/Romance
Publisher – Kando Books
Published – August 2015
Number of pages – EBook, 162 pages

About the Book :-

When a daughter turns marriageable age, what should a responsible father do? Easy – wed her to the most suitable boy who comes knocking on the door. Jai Bhardwaj, Mili’s father and owner of The Serenity Tea Estate in the idyllic Nilgiris would’ve probably liked to do the same, but being who he was, he had to ask her first. What would she say?

My Review:-

As the title of the book is “Milan – a wedding story”, it is a story of union of two very different individuals. A story of how a one-sided love blooms and becomes a love story of two people who are very opposite to each other. The protagonists Mili and Ahaan, play their parts very well and their characters are well portrayed. The character of Ahaan is so good, loving and caring that his character seems very hard to get in real life. I feel every girl needs a lover or hubby like Ahaan. He understands Mili’s feelings and dilemmas and never forces her for anything, another good quality of Ahaan.

Mili’s character is good but at times I found her to be rude and confused who is not ready to express her true feelings for Ahaan very soon. But I think it is just every girl’s dilemma and fear before a sudden marriage proposal. I think the other characters don’t have much important roles in the story.

The language is very easy to understand for anybody and the story moves very smoothly. It is a plain love story like fairy-tale and there are no twists and turns. At two points in the book, I felt something unexpected or some twist is coming but I never got that. Even in the absence of twists, the story kept me attached to it and I kept on reading and turning the pages. The pure love which was blossoming and the expectation of even a slight romantic encounter between the protagonists is the thing which I guess kept me hooked to the book.

I think it is my first book which I read in just three days. But I expected more from the book, I know the story is about the union of two individuals and two souls, and that they lived happily ever after marriage. But I felt the story came to an abrupt end and I wanted something more after their marriage. But all in all, it was a nice, soothing love story.

My Rating:- 3.75/5

My Verdict:-

I would recommend this book to all those who love reading happy-happy love stories with happy endings or to those who like a fairy-tale type of love stories.

Book Links:-
Amazon | Goodreads

About the Author:-

simi k rao

Simi K Rao was born in India and has been living in the United States for several years. Milan (A wedding story) is her third novel. Her previous novels are titled: Inconvenient Relations and The Accidental Wife. A practicing physician, Rao lives in Denver with her family. Rao enjoys exploring the dynamics of contemporary American culture blended with Indian customs and heritage to reflect the challenges and opportunities many Indian-American women face in real life.

I have read her book The Accidental Wife and it was a very interesting book. Read review of The Accidental Wife here.

Milan Banner

Contact the Author:-

Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Milan (A Wedding Story) – Book Review

Leave a Reply

