I believe in ‘Me’

Every girl in India before marriage plays the roles of a daughter and a sister but after marriage she plays the added roles of being a wife, a daughter-in-law and a sister-in-law. She has to do household chores, cooking, cleaning and taking care of family members. This cycle goes on and on and there is no break from this 24/7 job. It is a job with no salary, no holidays and no leaves; women just go on ticking like a clock.

There was a time when women were confined within the four walls of their homes, but now times have changed. Women are stepping out of their cocoons, we are striving to come at par with men. Education is playing the major role in bringing about this wave of change.

Nowadays women have become self-dependent and we can face the world on our own. There is no denying the fact that we need the emotional support of our families.

With the support of my family, I got good education and then a very good job. Life before marriage was quite easy because I just had to take care of myself and my job. But after marriage, things changed and I had to start multi-tasking. I had to do cleaning, cooking, all the laundry work and my 8-5 office work including many extra hours of work from home (WFH). I had to take care of morning or late evening meetings and work deadlines and among these I also had to play my roles of a wife, a daughter and a daughter-in-law. I always tried to maintain a balance between my personal and professional life.

But then came a time when I decided to give priority to my personal life and gave up my financial independence and that was really a tough decision. Now I am a stay at home mom (SAHM), but you can’t label me of just being a housewife. Yes I do all the works a housewife does like cooking, cleaning, laundry etc. I am the chef of my house ( I won’t call myself a great cook), every now and then I try different recipes to give a small treat to my family. I am the cleaner and care taker of my house. I do all these with great love and care. I love reading and I never let this hobby die out. And above all I am a blogger which I started to share and express my feelings and I enjoy blogging to the core of my heart.

But still my dream is to become financially independent again and may be after a few years I will fulfil this dream. Women are born to be multi-tasking people and you cannot tag them with a single label.

This post is a part of #UseYourAnd activity at BlogAdda in association with Gillette Venus.

4 thoughts on “I believe in ‘Me’

  1. It is the dark side that we homemakers are labelled dependent when it is not so! If anyone hires a maid for whatever a homemaker does, then people will realise, we are saving money and hence it is equal to earning 🙂 But, most people are mean. Once you (even true for men) start working, they will count only your earnings but not what ‘actually’ you are.

    Like

Leave a Reply

