Book Review : God is a Gamer

Book – God is a Gamer
Author – Ravi Subramanian
ISBN – 978-0-143-42139-9
Type – Fiction
Publisher – Penguin Books India
Published – September 2014
Number of pages – Paperback, 310
Price – ₹ 299/-

What happens when you cross gamer, banker, politician and terrorist with virtual money? God is a Gamer is the first Bitcoin Thriller to have ever been written.

Overview of the book:

In this book you come across this powerful virtual currency with a Gamer, Banker, Politician and a Terrorist.

A thriller which moves from Washington’s Congress to Delhi’s finance ministry, the beaches of Goa to the corporate boardrooms of Mumbai. A thriller set in a world where money means nothing, martyrs are villains, predators are prey, assassination is taught by the ancient Greeks, and nothing is as it seems.

My Review:

This book involves bankers, gaming world, FBI, CBI, Indian Finance minister, very close associates of US President and virtual currency bitcoins. For the first time I came to know about bitcoins or the virtual currency through this book. The story is very thrilling and kept me glued to it. It took me two days to finish the book, whenever I read it, I kept on reading non-stop and when I was not reading, I kept on thinking about the story. The story gets more interesting after the murder of Malvika, the CEO of NYIB. I kept on thinking that finance minister was behind her murder but many mysteries unfold at the end, which is very interesting.

I liked the characters of Aditya and agent Adrian Scott the most. The friendship between Aditya, Swami and Sundeep is very adorable, how they understand and help each other is very nicely portrayed. Aditya’s character is very genuine and how he acts like father figure to Swami and Sundeep is very praiseworthy. The way agent Scott solves the cases of assassination of senator Gillian Tan, ATM heist and the murder of CEO of New York International Bank (NYIB) is impeccable. The romance between Varun and Tanya is very nicely portrayed. But there is lot of deceit and the past comes haunting.

The chapters in the book are of few pages with different chapters describing incidents happening at different places in short intervals. The language is very easy to understand, usually I keep a dictionary while I am reading a novel but here I didn’t feel the need.

But there are so many characters that once I had to try hard to remember about the character of Stan, who was he and what he did in the beginning. Also I was not very happy with the abrupt ending. Although it shows happy ending at last but I am not sure if the one who gets caught at the end is the real culprit or the one who was behind all these. After all who was the real culprit.

Overall it is a real thriller in sense and keeps you hooked till you finish it. I would surely recommend it to everyone who loves to read a thriller.If you are a thriller fan, then just go for it.

My rating – 4/5

Other books by Ravi Subramanian

Fiction:
If God was a Banker
Devil in Pinstripes
The Incredible Banker
The Bankster
Bankerupt

Non- fiction: I Bought the Monk’s Ferrari

This review is a part of the biggest Book Review Program for Indian Bloggers. Participate now to get free books!

Image taken from here

One thought on “Book Review : God is a Gamer

Leave a Reply

